Connecting two laptops

beeky

Distinguished
Oct 11, 2007
Before starting let me say at the outset I am a complete novice at networking but having followed various guides and tutorials I am still utterly stuck. Here is the problem:

I have two laptops Laptop1 and Laptop two. Laptop1 has an inbuilt wireless adapter an Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945 ABG Network Card. Laptop2 has a Belkin 802.11g Wireless Card. I have BT Broad band using a BT HomeHub 9543. At the moment the connection profile is as follows:

SSID: BT Homehub-9543
Authentication: Open System
Encryption: Disabled
Attempt to use this connection first is checked

In the network connection box of the control panel I have:

Internet Gateway Heading
Internet Connection Disconnected

LAN or High-Speed Internet.

1394 Connection
Disabled

Wireless Network Connection
Connected

Personal Area Network

Bluetooth Network Connection

-------------------------------------

Now I have tried the following:
The wizard using the Windows Zero Configuration
I have tried changing the TCP/IP properties from obtain automatically to

Use the following IP Address on Laptop1: 192.168.0.1
and
192.168.0.2 on laptop2

I tried to set up a new profile with

SSID: MSHome
Network Authentification: Shared
Data Encryption: WEP
A 10 character network Key

---------------------------------------------------

I don't really understand all these things but when I change the obtain IP Address automatically to the IP Addresses above I lose my internet connection on both laptops. Clearly I am doing something really stupid.

Can you tell me in very simple language:

a. what I am doing wrong
b. How I can setup so that I have internet connection on both machines and allow the machines to talk with one another or at least be able to share files.
c. How will I know when the network is working properly and where can I see the second laptopn from the first and vice versa.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Beeky

g-paw

Splendid
Jan 31, 2006