Windows XP Pro & Pentium(r) lll

BLWADEY

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2009
I have a Compaq Pentium(r)III computer runnig under Windows 98 Ver 2, 4.10. I'm not sure where I can get a reliable reading on the processor speed. When the machine boots up, I see 450 mz, but in the Device Manager, there are appear to be 2 co-processors. I am not very technical.

I would like to reformat, install Windows XP SP2 and then reinstall the software. The machine is to be used primarily for the internet, and Microsfot Office (mostly Outlook email, Word, Excel, and Powerpoint - in that order).

I am expecting (assuming?) that XP will be better than 98, but specifically why or hnow, I really don't know.

Is replacing Win 98 with Windows XP possible? If so, is this wise? If am obliged to stay with Win 98 (or it makes sense to stick with 98), what are the major considerations?

Thanks for your help.

samb

Distinguished
Feb 1, 2009
This should work fine for what you use the computer for. Xp will make the use of USB devices a little easier for you.

If you are coming from 98 you might benefit from going into control panel > System > Advanced > Perfomance > settings > visual effects - select best performance.

Then go to Display properties and select Classic theme - this will give you a familiar look on your desktop.

There are all sorts of performance tweaks for getting an older machine to run in a satisfactory manner for what you want.

You didn't mention how much ram you have - try to have at least 512mb or you will be thrashing the harddrive.

I recently ran a minimal install of TinyXP on a Pentium II with just 128mb of ram, and it was surprisingly responsive - remember if you are not happy you can always reinstall 98 or dual boot until you decide for sure.

BLWADEY

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2009
Thanks for the quick and helpful response SamB.