Sign in with
Your question

Can Linus Do Things Like Steam And BF3?

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
September 3, 2012 5:44:37 PM

Im thinking about installing ubuntu out of a virtule machine cause it seems like a great OS but can i use what i use on windows on that like steam, bf3, skype, c++ (well of course it does but do they have things like good IDEs?), common games?

More about : linus things steam bf3

September 3, 2012 11:11:04 PM

Ubuntu will turn out to be a good choice since a native Steam client is coming soon. No official date yet though. I heard the first games will be Left for Dead 2 and Portal 2. Others should follow.

Skype runs natively. Not sure about a C++ IDE but I'm sure there is something. I'm not a programmer so I'm not sure what to recommend.

I'm running Steam and Counter-Strike Source on Mint via PlayOnLinux. It works relatively well.

m
l
September 3, 2012 11:51:47 PM

melikepie said:
Im thinking about installing ubuntu out of a virtule machine cause it seems like a great OS but can i use what i use on windows on that like steam, bf3, skype, c++ (well of course it does but do they have things like good IDEs?), common games?

I am happy to hear you want to you linux. Ubuntu is great for first time users. For C ++ you can use eclipse for your IDE. I have only used eclipse for my Java work but have been told it works great for C ++. Linux is a great choice for programming. The school i attend(Auburn University) has started recommending it along with( in certian classes) requiring it. So if eclipse doesn't suit your needs im sure there is something out there.