Disfunctional Fan on Video Card!

NuNRG

Distinguished
May 26, 2007
Hey guys,

Im not very good with computers so bare with me..

Recently I have been getting constant warnings that my video card (Radeon 9600) is overheating. I built this rig about 4 years ago and hadnt once cleaned the dust from the inside, so I figured that was the problem.

Well I have a version of this case:
D15-2026-main.jpg

And I cannot get the side with the window off, so I tried to get the opposite side off, I did that with ease and noticed that I was blocked by the wall in which all the hardware is attached to. Since I had no idea how I was going to clean the inside of the case I had to resort in cutting a hole in the window area of the case.. I know theres an easier way to access the inside but I couldnt for the life of me figure it out.

After I cleaned out the case and got rid of almost all the dust I booted up my computer and ran some video games to see if I was still getting the warnings. Sure enough I was.

After inspecting the fan on the botton of my video card I realized it was not moving while the computer was on. What can I do to get it running again? Note that I was unable to open the case to access the hardware (window side) and I had cleaned out almost all the dust. I used a compressed air can and blew it directly on the video card fan via the small hole I cut in the window, still no luck in getting it moving.

Thanks in advance for the help.

NuNRG

Distinguished
May 26, 2007
I was able to get the side off and I have access to the computer. Should I now remove the video card then take off the fan and install a new one? If possible can someone tell me how to remove the video card, I dont wanna break it.

Thanks.

yourmothersanastronaut

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2006
The card should be attached to the case by a screw. Unscrew it, and gently remove the card by pulling it straight out. You may have to wiggle it lengthwise to remove it, do it SLOWLY.