Sign in with
Your question

x64 bit CPUs, why are they being sold with x32 bit OS's

Last response: in CPUs
May 26, 2007 12:06:05 PM

if you have a x64 bit CPU and you where going to put vista onto your system, you would put vist HP x64 or abv (ulimate or bussiness) right?

So then why are compaies like dell putting the 32 bit version on to PC with e6300 and above all.

This seem stupid to me, is this so they can get away with putting cheaper RAM as 32bit version dont benfit too much from 2Gb+ abv 677?

oh and two thing before i forget, pls dont say why would you buy a dell, i am a system builder not a buyer, this si just an inquery.

and pls no 'Why would you get Vista'
May 26, 2007 12:27:41 PM

because:
1) There is no advantage of 64bit OS unless you have more than 4GB of RAM and software which can utilize it.
2) There is no difference in performance
3) 95% of the software is still 32bit
4) There are missing a lot of drivers for the 64bit OS-es
May 26, 2007 12:41:03 PM

Quote:
if you have a x64 bit CPU and you where going to put vista onto your system, you would put vist HP x64 or abv (ulimate or bussiness) right?

So then why are compaies like dell putting the 32 bit version on to PC with e6300 and above all.

This seem stupid to me, is this so they can get away with putting cheaper RAM as 32bit version dont benfit too much from 2Gb+ abv 677?

oh and two thing before i forget, pls dont say why would you buy a dell, i am a system builder not a buyer, this si just an inquery.

The industry isn't done milking 32bit applications yet.

Word, Playa.
Related resources
May 26, 2007 1:11:14 PM

Quote:
because:
1) There is no advantage of 64bit OS unless you have more than 4GB of RAM and software which can utilize it.
2) There is no difference in performance
3) 95% of the software is still 32bit
4) There are missing a lot of drivers for the 64bit OS-es

A little off - my list would be: