Hi all,

I put this little doozy together a few weeks ago:

ASUS P5N32E SLI Plus
C2D 6600
BFG 8800 GTS
4 GB Kingston value RAM
WD 79 GB Raptor + Caviar 320 GB
Vista Home Premium

It generally runs fast and stable. I've even completed Everest Ultimate tests on it. But, every once in awhile--like twice in the last two days--the damn thing just turns off. Like the power went out or something, it just shuts off while I'm working. The temps are all fine I think (MB 39c, CPU 33c, GPU 57c).

I'm new to building machines, so I have no idea where to even start diagnosing. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks.

Jdm240sx

Distinguished
Feb 17, 2006
yeah what mpilchfamily said what powersupply do you have? are all the cables securely attached? try different programs to monitor your temp
if its the blue screen theres many possiblities

rockowastaken

Distinguished
Apr 5, 2007
I've got a new Silverstone ST75F 750W...got really good reviews. Is there anyway I can figure out if it really is the PSU? (Short of buying another one).

I've been monitoring temps with Everest and the Asus PC Probe II and everything looks okay.

Neotriple

Distinguished
Oct 8, 2006
Hm, your power supply seems good enough for sure. I would suggest maybe looking for Spyware/Adware, or like another post said, use another program to identify your temperatures [Speedfan maybe?].

If not, I had this problem a couple days ago on one of my computers, and I re-installed Windows and it went perfectly.

yourmothersanastronaut

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2006
Just out of curiosity, what is your CPU voltage set to? I used to have the voltage on my X2 3800+ at 1.275v, and then I would get random shutoffs like yours. My system would just completely shut off, like someone had been holding the power button. It wasn't even load-dependent, could happen in a game or idling at the desktop.