Sign in with
Your question

Zalman CNPS9700-NT on Q6600 - strange behavior

Last response: in Overclocking
May 26, 2007 1:31:04 PM

Hi guys,

I am rather new to all that stuff, so please forgive my ignorance: I have build a system with Zalman CNPS9700-NT on Intel Q6600 and almost died from scare when I turned on PC and system fans started working fine but bloody Zalman did not - but it was showing signs of live by lighting up from time to time and moving fan a bit, but not working as one would expect.

However after a period of time, perhaps 40-50 secs it will start working - when looking at BIOS page showing system health it seemed that cooler fan was starting working when CPU reached temp of 36C. After fan started it seemed to keep going, however after a while on idle OS it stops again - CPU temp is reported at below 30C.

Is this normal behavior? I really freak out at thought of a quad core CPU being on a cooler fan that may stop beause it thinks CPU is cold enough or am I overreacting here? 8O
May 26, 2007 3:21:32 PM

8O

The motherboard is Gigabyte GA_965P_DS3P.

Zalman is connected to the place on mobo where it should be - and cooler works but only if temp reaches around 36C, right now the box is idle and CPU temp is reported to be 23 C, cooler on it is not running 8O

I can confirm that cooler connection on mobo is 4 pins just like on Zalmans.

Is this normal at all? I always thought that maybe revs will drop down on idle, but surely not to 0?
May 26, 2007 3:36:05 PM

Quad is idle in this situation and case temp is reported as around 33C, I can only guess that good airflow going through cooler makes it sufficient for idle speed - I actually have got wattage used by the system reported and it is less than 100 watts - this is only mobo, CPU, PSU, couple of drives and that's about it - so actual power usage is very low, all on idle though.

I tried switching off smart fan control in BIOS, but this made Zalman run at top speed as if it was trying to take off! 8O