Dual booting Windows 8 with Linux

spiphix

Distinguished
Mar 12, 2010
So I just bought a new laptop pre-loaded with windows 8. I've heard a few things that you can't dual boot with this OS and i'm a total rookie when it comes to BIOS etc. I was wanting to dual boot with Linux Mint. Is this possible? Or would the only way to do this be running linux from a flash drive? Thanks for any help.

Adam

Solution
Which Linux distribution do you want? Ubuntu is very easy to dual boot with Windows. All you have to do is have minimum two partitions on your hard drive. One should have Windows. Then go to ubuntu.com and download wubi.exe which is a small utility that automatically dual boots ubuntu with windows. Run the installation, let it download the disk image and select another partition to install ubuntu (not the same one as your windows install). Then let it install and when you restart your computer, ubuntu should appear with windows 7 in the boot manager. Each time you boot up, you shall then be able to select which OS you want to use.

The Stealthinator

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2012
Which Linux distribution do you want? Ubuntu is very easy to dual boot with Windows. All you have to do is have minimum two partitions on your hard drive. One should have Windows. Then go to ubuntu.com and download wubi.exe which is a small utility that automatically dual boots ubuntu with windows. Run the installation, let it download the disk image and select another partition to install ubuntu (not the same one as your windows install). Then let it install and when you restart your computer, ubuntu should appear with windows 7 in the boot manager. Each time you boot up, you shall then be able to select which OS you want to use.

Solution

spiphix

Distinguished
Mar 12, 2010