Solved

Half Screen?

Hello all, this is my first time installing Ubuntu and second time installing Linux so I am pretty much a total newb, forgive my newby-ness. :D

One of my friends recently gave me his old PowerPC G5. I have been trying unsuccessfully for about three days now to install Ubuntu 12.04 LTS on it.
I have reformatted it and managed to work out most of the bugs in it but there is one I cannot seem to fix, and that is the screen: when I start the machine, it gets to yaboot then the monitor displays "Input out of range" before I can even see the Ubuntu Logo (As soon as I should start seeing things.)

I have done some research and found out display problems are pretty common with the G5. I then was lead to try typing in
"Linux video=TV-1:d" in the yaboot prompt. When I did I was pleased to see everything was normal except one thing, about one half of the screen is not being displayed!!! Does anybody know some commands I could type in to fix this?

Computer Exact Specs:

Dual liquid cooled 2.3 GHz PowerPC 970FX G5s
NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL
2.5 Gigabytes of PC3200 DDR SDRAM
250 Gigabyte 7200 RPM harddrive
19 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about half screen
  1. UPDATE: entering "Linux video=ofonly" made it work (with half a screen) as well, I changed the conf.org file so I don't have to type it every time and 800x600 res works but is too small can someone please help?
  2. I don't exactly understand what you mean. I get that only half a screen shows up when you try to install Ubuntu, but perhaps would it be possible for you to upload a video of what exactly happens? It might be easier for people to help you then. Maybe the monitor if just faulty. Does half a screen only show up during the installation or all the time?
  3. Hello Stealthinator, thanks for the response.