Sign in with
Your question
Closed

What vista software can fully utilize a core i7 processor?

Last response: in Windows Vista
April 11, 2009 10:00:42 PM

Your question requires too much background information about threads that you apparently don't have; therefore, the answer is: all software will use all available processing devices to handle all threads it creates, unless the software engineer specifically decided to make the program behave differently. While some self-taught or inexperienced programmers have a burning desire to twiddle affinity or other aspects of an SMP environment, production code from major vendors usually does not suffer from such defects unless the nature of the program requires tightly-controlled response times (such as in games, or some high-end applications that process mountains of information; the latter are not usually found in the retail channel as they typically run on real computers instead of PCs - and those applications are written far more intelligently and carefully than anything you'd be installing on a windows machine).

bottom line: don't worry about it, because in the end the only thing that matters is whether the program provides adequate performance for the task at hand. If it does, then its architecture will not impact you in any meaningful way.

If it bothers you that an app doesn't use (or doesn't NEED) more than 1 or 2 or N threads to do its job, just look at it this way: if a program never spawns more than X number of threads, and X is less than the number of processing units available, then that just leaves more horses for all the other dozens of apps and services that are also running).

April 12, 2009 2:56:28 PM

tmike said: