Sign in with
Your question

Linux Build Help

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
January 27, 2013 9:01:01 PM

Hello,

I was putting together a new build for my brother and he told me he wants to use Linux. I have no experience with linux and I don't know if my parts that I picked out even support linux.

Parts I've picked out from MicroCenter:
i5 3570k
8gb 1600mhz Crucial
AsRock z77 extreme4
Intel 330 120gb SSD
Going to be using on board video

Stuff I already have:
DVD/CD RW
Raidmax 850w AE 80+Gold PSU ( I know its overkill)
Antec 300
WD Green 500gb HDD.

So I'm just all around confused about linux. Do my parts support linux? Do they still need to install drivers and such? I suggested he uses Win 7 pro. Should we both save ourselves the headaches and get Windows 7 pro?

More about : linux build

January 28, 2013 1:37:22 AM

Not a bad set of parts. I understand Linux physically **chews up** SSD-drives by multiple re-writes unless one pronounces a non-trival set of juju within certain files. I've read discussions of that mumbo-jumbo and such was enough to scare-me-off including SSD in a new/ongoing build.
Could Linux RANK-OUT your new SSD in a matter of weeks? I have no idea. I could discern no built-in **feedback** to report the supposed effect of the changes. Your risk tolerance may be greater than mine.

garrettk4 said:
Hello,

I was putting together a new build for my brother and he told me he wants to use Linux. I have no experience with linux and I don't know if my parts that I picked out even support linux.

Parts I've picked out from MicroCenter:
i5 3570k
8gb 1600mhz Crucial
AsRock z77 extreme4
Intel 330 120gb SSD
Going to be using on board video

Stuff I already have:
DVD/CD RW
Raidmax 850w AE 80+Gold PSU ( I know its overkill)
Antec 300
WD Green 500gb HDD.