thioxane

Distinguished
May 28, 2007
Hello everyone, I want to build a new computer this summer, and seeing as this is my first time doing it, I would appreciate some help! I would like to use this computer for some solid gaming, especially for Half-life 2 Episode 2.

I've done a fair bit of reading on Tom's Hardware and I think I have a good idea of how to put the system together, but I would like some feedback in case some parts dont work together or there's some newbie thing I did ~.~

Without further adue -

CPU - Core 2 Duo E6420 or Core 2 Duo E6600
Should I get the E6600 or overclock the E6420, will it affect the performance?

CPU Cooler - Zalman CNPS7700-AlCu 120mm Cooler

Motherboard - Gigabyte P965 DS3
This motherboard looks like it'll do the job, and I've seen it used often!

Graphics Card - EVGA 8800 GTS 320

RAM - 2 Gigs of PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Is this RAM ok, which company is best?

Power Supply Unit
What kind should I get?

Hard Drive - Western Digital Caviar RE2 WD5000YS 500GB

Case - An old computer case I have, it housed a fairly recent computer

I live in toronto, Canada and I won't be able to order these parts from Newegg as I was planning :cry: . I was thinking of buying parts from Tigerdirect, but they seem to be quite expensive and don't carry everything. So I'll probably buy them from eBay - is this a safe option or should I be worried?. Does anyone have any recommendations where I could get good parts for decent prices that will ship to Canada?

Thanks a lot for your thoughts and ideas in advance, ^.^
Thioxane

thioxane

Distinguished
May 28, 2007
I would wait on the mobo. The P35 based, Gigabyte DS3R is coming out soon. Better oc'ing ability, support for the new conroes with a 1333mhz fsb, and it won't cost much more.

How soon does it come out? Does the 1333mhz fsb matter if I plan on only having an e6420, or does it mean I can overclock mroe juice out of it :twisted: hehehe?

apt403

Distinguished
Oct 14, 2006