The local policy does not permit you to logon interactively

Status
Not open for further replies.

tkaplan1983

Distinguished
Jul 11, 2007
Hi all. I am having the weirdest problem. I work in a company that has all our computers on a domain. I think about two years ago I did some registry hack that overrode the Group Policy or Local Policy.

Here is some history:

I am a local administrator on both computers. I have compared all the terminal services local policy line by line on both computers and they are exactly the same.

I ran rsop.msc on both computers and they are exactly the same.

I tried manually adding myself to the remote desktop users on the remote tab of the computer I can't logon and it still doesn't work. The weird thing is that when I check the remote tab it says that my user already has access whether or not im on the list. I never was added any global list of users in GPO.

I checked all the areas that I could think of in the registry for fDenyTSConnections and they are all set to 0. I am totally stumped I have no idea why one computer works with no issue and the other one gives me:

The local policy of this system does not permit you to logon interactively. everytime I try to login through remote desktop. If anyone has any ideas how to fix this it would be greatly appreciated.

ahhgeez

Distinguished
Mar 7, 2009
Are you tring to RDP or is this a terminal server? We need a little info about the setup and why you had to override the original global policy.

proedros

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2009
ahhgeez is right, we need more info....
Was the remote desktop working and now it doesn't ?
Are the terminals fire walled?
Are you trying to remote within the domain or from outside?
Local administrator gives you only locally rights and only in the computer that you use, not to the domain profiles (i suppose) the computer has. Is that why you did the hack?

techdeuce

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2009