Need help installing nvidia drivers for linux mint 14

zcosmin

Honorable
Jul 12, 2012
I can only boot from the live version of linux mint 14 using nomodeset, i need to install drivers for my graphics card on linux because it wont boot the one that i have installed, i dont know how and which one to install, i have asus gtx 8800 and i have no experience with linux, can someone tell me the steps i have to take to install drivers on my live version of linux to my hardrive to my installed version linux?

Thanks

Glad you are able to boot now!
1.)add the xorg-edgers repository to apt list
2.)update system with 'apt-get update'
3.)install the nvidia packages needed

Code:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:xorg-edgers/ppa
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install nvidia-current nvidia-settings

this should install latest nvidia driver

edit: i see you are in the live environment, in that case you need to 'chroot' in to your installed version first (you should learn to do this anyway to fix a broken system). Or like i mentioned in your other post, simply append 'nomodeset' to your kernel options when at the grub boot list.

This thread, first post, has info on how to do it (very easy)
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1613132
find part bolded "How to temporarily set kernel boot options on an installed OS (not wubi)"

zcosmin

Honorable
Jul 12, 2012

THANKS!!! I LOVE YOU FULL HOMO!!

zcosmin

Honorable
Jul 12, 2012
Also does linux need any antivirus software? and why does the cursor disappear when i dont move it? its so annoying, is there any way that i can disable that? And also why is the screen size only 1024 x 768, in windows 7 it was bigger? :S

generally linux doesnt need antivirus like most windows installations, but you can run 'clamav' if you want.
cursor disappear? sounds like a cinnamon specific issue.. doesnt do that for me with openbox. hope someone else will know.