Sign in with
Your question

Help! Taskbar icons disapear when I restart explorer!

Last response: in Windows 7
August 8, 2011 4:23:45 PM

Yo! Hi guys, if am posting on the wrong place srry, I'm still a noob here. But to get to my point, I heard alot of problems on the interweb saying about restarting explorer.exe if taskbar icons vanish. But a big issue left me shunning to restart explorer.exe. I didn't know how it started but everything I restart windows explorer some of the icons disapeer, not all but some significant ones like Deskspace which is manageble only to right-click on the tskbar icon, and Ditto, a software that saves your Ctrl-C data for later which the pop-up selector is located on the taskbar icon, all the others are find but this all happens when I restart windows explorer. It's really annoying to log off and log back on just to config or use some of my most useful programs.
a b $ Windows 7
August 8, 2011 5:00:51 PM

so you are saying you randomly shut explorer.exe down from task manager? what is the strong need for you to be doing so? I'm not surprised you're having errors...

Normal operation wise, explorer.exe should only be restarted when you log on/off.
m
l
August 8, 2011 8:58:00 PM

restart explorer due to modification like changing the start button with a program and screenlocking my laptop, but most of all when wndows explorer crashes, It's happens from time to time but usually explorer shut down and I have to turn it on
m
l
Related resources
a b $ Windows 7
August 8, 2011 10:08:10 PM

hmm ok, your work environment implies crashing explorer then...

I mean in my usage of win7 I have yet to experience one crash of explorer process, but what I recall from winxp it was able to restart fine.

Do this, run > services.msc