Help a knob understand why Vista SP1 doesn't suck?

Tom92602

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2007
I've been using XP now for 8-9 years now. I am using SP3 now.
I just bought a new Dell which only comes with Vista SP1.

I have an XP SP2 OEM CD from my old Dell that sits in the closet.
So I re-installed my new Dell as a dual-boot with XP and Vista.

Vista Aero Glass and the Rocket Strip are cool but other than that
vista drives me nuts.

Text seems sharper on XP so Vista bugs me when surfing the
internet with firefox 2.0.20. Not as easy to read. And Yes I turned
off "Cleartype". On or Off it's still not as sharp as XP.

Vista seems to ask me constantly if it's ok to execute programs
I start up. Just run things already.. Yes I'm sure I want to run
xyz!!!!

Vista seems harder to find settings than simplistic XP.

So what the hell makes Vista worth using over XP? I don't use
or need DirectX 10. I don't game at all besides MAME.

I read that Vista SP2 fixes bugs but is slower than SP1.

So help me understand why my Vista SP1 CD doesn't belong in the
trash... I am considering removing the dual-boot and just using XP SP3.

Not trying to piss anyone off, just trying to understand why Vista exists..

dmroeder

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2005
So far your complaints are Font sucks and User Account Control Sucks. Oh and "I heard" that SP2 is slower.

I don't know what to tell you about the font not looking as sharp, I didn't notice any difference.

As for UAC asking you questions all the time: This is a security feature. It prevents malware from installing/running apps automatically without you knowing. It can be turned off.

I guess one other complaint is that things are hard to find. I don't really think they are any harder to find than in XP, just some things are in different locations than you are used to. Everything seems to be in logical places to me.