Sign in with
Your question

video card overheating / heatsink is cool

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
May 30, 2007 12:39:57 AM

Here is my problem. I have a Sappire Ultimate X1950 Pro, which has a Zalman VF900CU cooler. It seems to be overheating, as I am getting 39-40 C temps idle and around 60 at load, with my room temp being 23. After some time on intensive games, the screen might become all screwed up and then I have to restart my pc because this stays on my desktop. Overclocking makes things worse obviously.

My fan speed is set constantly on 100% but this makes little difference. To the touch, the cooler feels cool. Is it maybe a problem with the thermal paste? Would silver thermal compund like this help? http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=11336&vpn=OC...

Thanks for the help!
May 30, 2007 1:17:02 AM

i am no expert on that card but those temps are safe, my x1600 runs 65 degrees max load.
May 30, 2007 1:23:06 AM

Sounds like the cooler is not seated on the card properly.

Take it off, clean everything with denatured alcohol, put a tiny dab of thermal compound on the GPU and smear it around with a piece of plastic over your finger. Then remount the cooler making sure that it sits flat on the GPU. Slowly tighten each of the screws a little bit until the cooler is snug to the GPU. It does not have to be mounted so tightly that it warps the card.

60 C. is not hot, but if you get artifacts then it's overheating. Also check the airflow in your case.
Related resources
May 30, 2007 1:53:01 AM

60 is far from overheating. At stock clocks that thing could reach up to around 100C and still be stable. I have a 1950XT which is basically the same arch and at stock clocks it can go up to 112C before signs of artifacts and shutsdown at 118C. Your card is defective if it is artifacting or you do not have ram heatsinks installed and your ram is overheating.