Advice about watter cooling.

gOJDO

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2006
I have the rig in my sig and I want to replace my current after-market cooler(Asus Silent SQUARE) with a watter cooling.
I have no experience with watter coolers and I would ask those who have to recommend me one for $200.
I want my OC-ed stuff (CPU, chipset and graphics card) to be cool.
Sometimes in October I plan to upgrade my system with Gigabyte GA-P35-DS4 and Yorkfield/Kenstfiled. Also I am going to buy a nVidia 8800 graphics card.
So, the watter cooling should be powerful enough to cool down these overclocked components.

Thanks for any advices and recommendations.

aLdaRiS

Distinguished
May 4, 2007
me i would say, for the 8800 get the HR-03 its an air coolin device (the best hands down) and for the cpu it depends... but please don't have the cpu and the video card in the same water loop, that aint gonna help much unless you have a reall good radiator, if i was you id only put one of them in the water loop since the gpu gets awfully hot

alarinn

Distinguished
Jun 3, 2007
I use a Swiftech Storm CPU cooler along with the Swiftech MCW60 GPU cooler on a 7900GT card and the temps hand around 39C with an ambient temp of 27C. That using a 120mm radiator also by Swiftech. This loop is working well with my new 8800GTS (load temps around 45C). A dual radiator core would be the best but I'd lose the ability to keep it internal. With the case closed, you never tell it was watercooled:)

SuperFly03

Distinguished
Dec 2, 2004
For $200 you are going to be stretched pretty darn thin.

MCP 655 pump

Swiftech Apogee

I choose the apogee to save you $25 over the Apogee GTX. There is only about a 1-2c differential at most.

Black Ice Extreme Rad

Simple Bay Resevoir

That will run you over $200 slightly but should be a good starting point and you can shop for the lowest price.

You won't be able to WC you vid card with a budget of $200, it just isn't going to happen. The water blocks themselves cost ~$100. :?