Your question

New system bricked. Please help.

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
May 31, 2007 8:14:29 AM

Hello. I am fairly new to the world of homebuilt systems and had just completed putting together a fairly midrange 1500ish system for gaming roughly a month ago only to have it stop working completely on me. The LEDs on the front panel do light up when the system is connected but nothing happens whatsoever when the start button is depressed on the case. I have replaced the power supply that was under warranty but apparently that was not the problem. I have swapped in a new mobo but with also the same results. I apologize if this is in the wrong forum but any advice as to what to look into next would be great.

List of components:
E6600 dual core CPU
550 watt power supply from corsair
GTS 8800 320 mb
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168... motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168... is the case. Fairly standard coolermaster midtower.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168... is the memory included

I've never hit a wall like this in troubleshooting before. Absolutely nothing occurs when the start button is pressed. These troubles started after a routine network card installation. The computer would hang in the bios and give a beep code that consisted of a series of rapid beeps (no long beeps) and then turn off only to attempt to boot again. After a few rounds of this I killed the power via the front button pressed for an extended period of time and checked components. The gigabyte manual states that this beep code is a generic power failure error (though I'm unclear as to whether or not there was a long beep at the beginning that would change the error completely).