New rig, can't decide on 6600/6420/4300 + mobo

bgstewar

Distinguished
May 16, 2007
I want to pull every single hair out of my head.

I spent ALL DAY yesterday researching, and have been for weeks before this, and just can't seem to make up my mind. Do I get the cheap 4300 and OC, or get the awesome and stable 6600 and OC up to 3.2 ghz? But then there's the 6420, which seems to be a good balance, especially with the 8X multiplier.

I have G. Skill F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ 2X1 GB RAM, Antec Sonata III case, earthwatts PSU 550, EVGA 7900GS GPU, Vista Home Premium (reluctantly). All that's left is the stu*%d processor and mobo.

Really, I will buy today if I could actually make up my mind. I'd rather spend less money of course, but I want something that will last me a while.

This is my first build and my first OC. I really don't want to spend ALL summer tweaking it, so a rather stable, user friendly BIOS on a mobo would be nice. I would like eSATA, Firewire, optical audio out, and lots of USBs. And I want to keep it for a while. I couldn't care less about SLI/Crossfire.

Specifically, I was looking at the MSI P6N Platinum, ASUS P5N-E, P5B-Plus, EVGA 680i, P5B Deluxe (a little $$), and the ABIT AB9 QuadGT. Maybe even the new ASUS P5K for $145 from Directron.

Every board has good and bad reviews, "get this" and "stay away" type advice. Is it best to stick with an Nvidia based board because I have an Nvidia GPU?

Every processor seems to be the BEST. No clear winners.

I will be doing mostly multimedia type stuff (burning DVDs, music, photoshop), MS Office, and some gaming.

There has to be an obvious choice of processor and mobo, right? RIGHT????

morg

Distinguished
Dec 21, 2005
you should evaluate a better ram too, 1066 mhz can run with better latencies, if you plan on overclocking and you switch your cpu for a better one, if you really want to get 800mhz ram, you can find some really cost effective without any heatspreaders... patriot signature 800 mhz