Sign in with
Your question

Overclocking Video Cards

Last response: in Overclocking
June 1, 2007 10:56:38 AM

I'm new to overclocking.

I know I've seen discussion of overclocking video cards, but I dont understand how that's done. From the little I know about CPU, FSB, and RAM overclocking, I understand that it's done via minor voltage changes in an overclocking friendly BIOS. How is it done on video cards? Are there only certain brands with overclocking as an option?

Thank you
June 1, 2007 11:21:41 AM

For nvidia you can use rivatuner and for ati atitool.
Overclocking for videocards is really easy, just search for the highest clockspeed it can handle (but watch you temps)
June 1, 2007 11:34:32 AM

Yeah its much easier than OCing the CPU and RAM.

Using coolbits, you can let it do an automatic OC, and then just adjust the sliders untill highest stable. Mine still keeps under 50c.
Related resources
June 1, 2007 11:52:54 AM

Thanks very much for the quick replies. 8)

One discussion of Coolbits noted that not all cards have temperature sensors, and that this varies from brand to brand.

I'd appreciate if someone could let me know what brands DO always have temp sensors, and if there's some place I could look for more details (it's not always mentioned in product descriptions on Web sales sites)

Thanks again
June 1, 2007 1:00:23 PM

Quote:
Thanks very much for the quick replies. 8)

One discussion of Coolbits noted that not all cards have temperature sensors, and that this varies from brand to brand.

I'd appreciate if someone could let me know what brands DO always have temp sensors, and if there's some place I could look for more details (it's not always mentioned in product descriptions on Web sales sites)

Thanks again
Just about every brand of Nvidia card you'll find has integrated temperature sensors. My personal favorite is eVga thanks to their lifetime warranty which covers overclocking, and their step-up program.
June 2, 2007 6:56:49 AM