Not booting right Compact Presario 6000

frankramiro

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2008
Hi guys;how're you all.Ok i need some help with this PC Compact Presario AMD Athlon ™ XP 1700+ 6000 with 40g hard drive,1.46G,256MB of Ram with option of one more 256Mb slot,windows service Pack2, since i'm an electronic student i checked it out and the only thing that was bad was the Fan in the power supply, i replaced it and started it and it goes as far as to the COMPACT LOGO and stops there and shows this on the screen, V02.00 <F10=Setup> when i push in power buttom on and off and on again a couple of times on the front switch it starts, also i don't have the recovery disk, any help would be apreciated.

Hanging at the Compaq logo can indicate a faulty or disconnected hard drive. Check all the connections on the drive. If you let the screen sit at that spot for a while... do you get any other messages?

frankramiro

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2008

Yes sir i get on the Compact Logo and V02.00 Setup F10

and when i press F10 i get black screen with V02.00 Set up and i press F10 and it goes no where, so i switch off and then on some times one time and some times 2 some times 3 and 4. and some times it starts right up at first time.

frankramiro

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2008

I also tried that but no avail i'm using the defaults, thanks in advance.

frankramiro

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2008

Thank you for the suggested software, but i do not deal with people that announces free stuff and in the end is not free at all i hate that, why don' t these guys just say that you pay this much and quit misleading people, besides there are no guaranties that it will do the job, thanks anyway.

^ the ultimate boot disc is free. You just have to download it. They operate on donations only. If you look around, it's highly regarded. The individual diagnostic tools that we all use to fix/optimize/diagnose our computers are included in this one download.