Trouble with Core 2 6600 with 680i evga_Temp

Swany420

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2006
I built this rig a couple months ago and i have yet to understand the mind of my computer. lol.

i have the E6600 on the evga 680i mobo
wit the scythe infinity heatsink/fan.

suppose to be decent.. but i have been getting confused. my idle is around 44-48c at 2.4 ghz. it stays the same through 2.8 ghz because the voltages dont get to high on auto. But i have been reading and on the core 2's, a warm temperature is considered anything above 50 and anything above 60 is hot..

i dont know if my idle temp is bad but considering other peoples idle temps with this heatsink, mine sucks.

does anyone have any thoughts on this?

i have a coolmaster full tower case.. plenty of room, i am looking to buy some more fans for my case.. seeing is 1 more intake and 1 more exhaust will do the trick.

again does anyone have any sugestions on what they think. and should i be worried about this temperature?

Swany420

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2006
can someone please reply to this... i know there are a lot of other threads that say somewat the same thing.. but i need to here for myself if these temps are exeptable at idle!!!

pellegro

Distinguished
Jun 3, 2007
hey my e6700 idles at 55 with the stock HSF. I have pulled it off, redone the grease, reset it, like 4 times and its always over 50.

from reading others experiences, this should be my reading at full strain - not at idle.

so im going to try a new hsf, but otherwise, like you, i dont know what to do. ....

Intel should really provide better info on what types of temps are acceptable at idle and load, and why the heck should it be running so hot with no O/C and their fan?

Hopefully someone will reply to your thread as it will help me as well!

vpsaline

Distinguished
Dec 23, 2006