Sign in with
Your question

Help With EXE Procedure Calls

Last response: in Applications
May 29, 2010 10:47:13 PM

Hey guys

I have some very urgent help I need from some of you experts out there

I have a bunch of DLLs I replaced for a Windows application with the same names.

The DLLs procedures are slightly different though.

Now my EXE won't run, because of procedure entry point errors.

I need some tools and basic directions on how I can go in to this EXE and edit its procedure calls, so it can execute the DLLs properly.

I do NOT have the language or source code for this exe.

Any help would ROCK!

Windows 7 Ult. x64

More about : exe procedure calls

a b L Programming
June 1, 2010 11:53:49 PM

By "slightly different" what do you mean? I'm not a windows developer but I think as long as the functions have the same signature (return type, name, parameters), it should still link since DLLs are dynamic.
June 2, 2010 5:23:47 AM

Well here's the short version --> I'm making an undistributable patch for a program someone else made (forget the copyright stuff lolz, I've cleared it and I'm following the EULA). The patched DLLs are mainly the same, they just have a few different lines of procedure calls in them. For example 2 or 3 are added/deleted to each DLL, and a few are rewritten.

As a result, the entire import section of the executable needs to change, so that it lines up and each DLL can be properly called. Here's an example:

?get@iterator@ConfigParser@@QBE_NAAM@Z

might be slightly changed to

?get@iterator@Config@@QBE@Z@@I@E

Unless I change the imports of the executable to match that new revised call, it'll just tell me

The procedure entry for "?get@iterator@ConfigParser@@QBE_NAAM@Z" could not be found in "blank.dll", because it no longer exists in the DLL it's looking for.

Get what I mean?
Related resources
a b L Programming
June 2, 2010 1:59:45 PM