Sign in with
Your question

wired and wireless networking

Last response: in Wireless Networking
February 4, 2008 2:02:54 PM

Ok so heres the thing I have a wireless car in my desktop to connect to a network however the signal I have isn't very strong so my wifes laptop that has built in wireless cannot access that network. so here is my question if I were to buy a router(http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...) would I be able to share that internet connection with her? Is it possible to connect wirelessly and wired @ the same time? also I want to be able to share some files with her pc and my printers that I have too, is that possible doing this.

I am new to networking so please be patient with me.
February 4, 2008 10:11:16 PM

In order to connect 2 or more computers you'll need a router, just a wireless card won't do. (OK there are other ways but the easiest is a router). You can hardwire a computer to a wireless router, in fact you usually have to hardwire one computer. With the router your wife and connect to the Net, share a printer, and share files between computers. Suggest you follow the directions for installation to the letter and turn all other computers off until you get the one that is hardwired up and running. Not sure about that Trendnet but my ZyXEL x-550 will tell you what every setting does and what the difference is between different settings.
February 5, 2008 11:50:47 AM

I am ordering the router this week but the main issue is that a friend is letting me access his internet thru his wireless network but the signal isn't very strong so my wifes laptop with built in wifi can't pull it in. I have a high gain antenna to obtain his signal and want to share that with my wife will this still work.
Related resources
February 5, 2008 2:53:02 PM

montec said: