Dual 19" Monitors and 42" HDTV on 1 PC with 2 graphic cards?

ocp_15k

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2006
Right, I'm gonna try and not confuse myself.

I want to have a Dual Monitor setup with 2x 19" monitors and a Large HDTV to watch movies and play games on the pc. I want to have a decent graphics card for gaming and a cheap one for multi tasking and watching movies.

My question is, how do I make this work? Will this be possible? I have a mobo with 3 PCIe sockets. Am I able to play games while multi taking and watch movies aswell? Is Windows XP able to output display on all 3 monitors at the same with with 2 graphics cards?

Something that I want to do is: Watch something on 1 19" monitor while have msn and browsing on the other 19" and game on the 42".

or

Watching something on the 42", browse and maybe game on the other 2 19"?

This is my first time turning to multi monitor set ups. Hope you guys can help me out as this is so confusing.

My system:
2x 19" VX924 + vx922 + 42" 1080p Toshiba X series TV
e6600
2gb ram
P5n sli plus
6800GT - will be upgraded soon.

skyguy

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2006
Yes. You'll need at least 2 graphics cards. 1 to power the main 42", and the 2nd to power the dual 19" screens. 42" would be set to be the primary, and the other 2 would be the 2ndary monitors.

However, you may run into resolution issues, since I would assume the 42 and 19's run at different resolutions. So while in Windows, you might find it VERY weird trying to move your mouse, windows, etc across the screen.....it'll appear to "jump/skip" up and down when moving across since they won't line up. My suspicion is that the 42 will run at 1366x768? And the 19s would run at 1280x1024. So you've got some weird differences there, not to mention that the 42 will look fuzzy up so close while the 19s will look crisp. And if you move the 42 back so it looks decent then you may find the 19s are too far away and look small. So if you can put up with the headache then fine.