Sign in with
Your question

Need advice on quiet gaming build

Last response: in Systems
June 5, 2007 6:51:50 AM

Budget: ~$2500 after taxes.
Hi, i need advice on what parts to buy. I did some research 2 months ago but i have tried to update the list alittle since then. I will not overclock at first but i will later on when i need more speed. In the budget i also want a good LCD monitor.

Introduction
I use my computer for all entertainment, i dont have a television or stereo. I watch alot of movies and also play games. I am studying at the university now so my gaming is sporadic, i have periodes
where i dont play at all and then i have periods where i dont do anything other than play games.
I mostly play FPS and MMORPG (looking forward to Unreal Tournament 3, Crysis, Quake wars among others).

One problem with my current system is that it is too loud and i dont want that to happend again so i have tried to pick quiet components. I would like to be able to sleep 3-4 meters from my computer if possible.
Also i live in Sweden so my prices will be different. My budget is set to about $2500 after taxes, i want to get as much performance/price as possible.

Parts that i possible could reuse
These are the things i can salvage from my current computer if i want.
Old soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Live! 5.1 Digital
Old hard disk: Seagate Barracuda 200GB IDE

My new computer system
Monitor: Samsung Syncmaster 226BW $500
Case: Antec p182 $170
PSU: Corsair CMPSU-620HXEU 620W $160
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-S3 $144
Should i buy a P35 motherboard instead? costs 50% more. Or is there some other motherboard that is good for me?
Graphic card: Asus GeForce Extreme N8800GTS/HTDP 640MB $500
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2,4GHz $290
RAM: Corsair XMS2 Xtreme TwinX DDR2 PC6400/800MHz CL5 2x1GB $130
should i buy CL4 instead, costs 20% more
Sound card: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer $100