Watercooling Kit Advice

jonny_ftm

Distinguished
May 27, 2007
Hi,
I will need an advice choosing a water block to cool my rig (see signature)
PSU calculator, estimates heat dissipation from my setup above 150W (CPU only)

I would like a CPU cooler only for now.
I was looking at Swiftech H20-220 Apex™ Ultra kit, as I'm a noob in WC, I would feel more comfortable with a kit, that I later can change some parts if needed.

Will that kit lower my temperatures on load, lets say at something below 50° at these voltages?
Any better kit / choice?
Is it better to get separate parts and have more performant radiators/pumps/reservoires... at a lower/same price?

Many thanks

bendecki

Distinguished
Jun 3, 2007
im pretty new to WCing myself but what i have been told many many times is that custom WC rigs are by far the best solution, and yes you should drop your temps to around 50 C under load, maybe even lower, with WC

that is a good kit though and if that is all you want for this moment go for it but the kit itself might not be that great for adding other parts to later down the road because of the pump power or the radiator size, but i could be wrong

WestWarrior

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2007
That looks like a pretty good kit. Congratulations for not buying and asking questions later. If you are only planning on cooling that CPU, then i would say the kit would probley be suffice. My only change would be to change the CPU waterblock from an Apogee to at least an Apogee GT, preferably a GTX or Fuzion.

As for your hopes of reaching below 50 temps, it is entirely likely that you will get below 50C, but not likely for below 50F. Im sorry if you already knew that, but some people dont.

phreejak

Distinguished
May 11, 2006