Windows does not shut down but keeps on starting up

HJ Fritz

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2009
Windows shuts off,As if it has no power, windows does not shut down. But it restarts even with out being prompted to. At times when it happened say 3 times with timing of about 30 minutes or so. My screen does not start up when windows turns on(start up). Please if any one has a solution or probaple cause I would really like to know. The windows troubleshooter for shutting down or start up problems does not give the symptoms for my pc.

dlthai

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2009
This sounds like a hardware problem.

You are either losing power momentarily, or having a catastrophic hardware error, such as base RAM, which shuts off the system. The system then re-boots automatically.

Try re-seating the RAM, and all connectors inside the box.

HJ Fritz

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2009
I will try it, but for me it is all in a foreign language. I don't understand ram. What does it do? I am just starting to learn about my pc. When it comes to hardware I really don't know anything. (the last time I did anything with the hardware of a pc, I had to take it in for repairs) But I did change the power cord. Even reinstalled windows thinking that is where the problem lies. I had the habbit of playing sims 2. Before reinstalling windows sims did not open, but crashed(one of the reasons for reinstalling windows) Thinking a virus caused it ran the antivirus. Did do scandisk. Defragmented. the funny thing is that there is no error report to send. It's as if the pc doesn't read that there is a problem, and a serious one at that.

HJ Fritz

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2009