Slow demise of ATI for GPU FLAGSHIP dominance!!!

kansur0

Distinguished
Mar 14, 2006
***I am not a techie...just an observer. I respect all of your opinions and your bashing. I wouldn't bother bashing. I don't care about being the smartest here. I am simply pointing out what I have observed***

From what I have seen of the new design and the reviews and posts up to this point there is one statement that I can make with absolute certainty.

"I AM COMPLETELY DISSAPPOINTED WITH ATI'S 2900 DESIGN"

When ATI releases a flagship card they should absolutely surpass the competition. Argueing about optimized drivers and trying to predict when the card will catch up to the 8800GTX when it is "fine tuned" is pointless. The card should have been able to rip into the GTX by 10-20% with any drivers put to the card. Anything less is a failure.

I am an AMD and ATI user since 1999. I wanted to see ATI come back out on top because competition is healthy for the industry. Now that they have not been able to completely destroy the nVidia flagship card the 8800GTX card will drop down in price and smother the 2900 when nVidia releases it's next flagship offering.

The question is...can ATI come back and be the undisputed champion once again? Do they even want the crown back...or are they abandoning this war to be dominant in other markets like the hybrid CPU/GPU chip? I for one think this market will be huge...but not being able to joust with nVidia in the world market for complete GPU flagship domincance will eventually bring ATI down. They must return again to completely crush nVidia or they will slowly fade away...no matter what other markets they decide to explore.

ATI...IF YOU CANNOT RELEASE A FLAGSHIP CARD THAT WILL COMPLETELY DOMINATE THE COMPETITION...DO NOT HYPE IT...DO NOT GIVE YOUR SUPPORTERS FALSE HOPES. PUSH THE RED BUTTON WHEN YOU ARE READY...THEN PROCEED TO CRUSH.