Recycle Bin Always Empty

Pagla

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2009
I have been using Win XP for about nine years but have not faced a problem like this before - my Recycle Bin always remains empty!

Whatever files I delete do not show up in the Recycle Bin and as such, the option of "Empty Recycle Bin" always remains inactive.

This has started after I recently installed Win 7 RC on another partition with dual boot. It created an extra folder called "$Recycle" for EACH of my partitions, which I left alone.

After I faced this problem, I reformatted my C: drive and reinstalled Win XP again (WITHOUT dual boot) and for a couple of days the recycle bin behaved correctly before going blank again!

I also manually deleted the "$Recycle" folders from all the drives without any avail.

I have scoured the Net for Microsoft's or anybody else's response about this particular problem but could not find anything.

I would appreciate if anybody can point me towards either the source or the solution of this problem.

Thanks

Pagla

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2009
Tried just now.

Downloaded the reg script for "Repair/Replace XP Recycle Bin". Ran the script and rebooted.

Then deleted a dummy file - Recyle Bin remains empty.

No effect whatsoever.

btk1w1

Distinguished
Oct 13, 2008
This may seem obvious, but sometimes it's the obvious that elude us.

Have you right clicked the recycle bin, clicked on properties and made sure the option not to move items to the recycle bin is unchecked?

Pagla

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2009
Hi btk1w1

I wrote in my last reply that I rebooted after the reg fix.

Mine, as I said, is a week old installation and I haven't yet changed any of the default settings. But I nevetheless went in and checked - in the properties dialog the "Do not move files to the Recycle Bin" box remains unchecked.