Network Sockets

ray424

Distinguished
Nov 23, 2007
Someone recomened your site as having all the answers so I wondered if you could help me, i am a IT Tech at a school we want to put some cab sockets in a classroom this would mean runing a cat5 from a switch in the corridoor my question is can cab sockets be put in series that is 5 or 6 sockets on 1 cable or do they need individual cables from the switch if this is the case can I simply add a switch to a switch i.e we have a 24 port switch can i add a 10 port switch to this.
i hope you can help
regards
ray

NightbladeXX

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2007
by cab sockets do you mean cable jacks where you would plug the ethernet cable into from a computer?

if so, you cant "daisy chain" an ethernet line

you can run one cat5 ethernet line form the switch in the corridor to a new switch in the room where you need the connections

as a rule/guideline you dont want to have more than 3 devices in a chain, something else to look at

i mean if theres already a router to a switch to another switch then you do not want to add another switch to that extension so if the switch in the corridor is the 3rd device in-line you will want to re-evaluate your plan to add extension in that room, but if that switch is only attached to 1 other device you should be good, this is all a relative guideline

it really depends on what devices are inline from each other as "managed" switches if set up properly will not have this issue also layer 2 traffic and layer 3 traffic will affect this rule too

best way if i lost you is to email me or contact me thru here to give me more information.

ray424

Distinguished
Nov 23, 2007
Nightblade
thanks for replying yes I do mean cable jacks they are not known by that over here the switch I refer to is second inline from the server the first switch is a 24port and the second switch is also 24port all ports are presently full hope you can advise me further
regards
ray

calyn

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2005