Sign in with
Your question

Speed problem with LAN?

Last response: in Networking
November 25, 2007 5:39:06 PM

I have a small LAN with 3 (2 Vista and 1 XP) PCs connected with Gigabit hardware and Cat6 Ethernet via a Gigabit Netgear switch. The file is being transferred from a SATAII drive to another SATAII drive. I am only getting file transfer speeds of 8.79MB/sec over the LAN.

This still sounds very slow to me. Is there something I should check first?

More about : speed problem lan

November 25, 2007 6:10:58 PM

I highly suggest running qcheck to check the actual bandwidth. It's a free download. But yeah that does sound slow. Are they all gigabit ethernet controllers or maybe it's a vista IPver6 issue.
November 26, 2007 12:38:55 AM

Thank you for the advice. I'm a novice at this.

I installed Qcheck and used the IPCONFIG command to get the IPv4 address for 2 of my Vista PCs connected via Cat6 and a gigabit switch. Both have gigabit cards. The switch has a green LED for gigabit connections and yellow for non-gigabit. The green light is on for the 3 connections (Computer A, B and C).

The throughput comes back with 800 Mbps but my file transfer for large files (e.g. 20 GB) is still in the 9-10MB/sec speed ranges. I enabled Jumbo frames on all cards and turned on and off firewalls without any noticeable improvement. Shouldn't I be getting about 3x that speed for file transfer?

Any other suggestions would really be appreciated. Thanks!
Related resources
November 26, 2007 3:10:38 AM

Hmm might be the windows file sharing your using to transfer files. I have heard of people complaining of slow file transfers on vista but I have yet to see anyone fix it. I know mccafee firewall can slow it down. Wish I had more experience with Vista. Hopefully someone will chime in and help you out. Just keep in mind your hard drive maxes out at 70 mbps and vista will do alot of disk caching if you don't have alot of ram.
January 15, 2008 2:05:52 AM