New Member, New to building a PC, advice on parts needed.

Adam786

Distinguished
Jun 11, 2007
Hey guys, im off to Uni in September and want to get a PC built for the first time by myself to take to uni. Im not in need of a new PC, i just have an urge to build one and want some of the latest technology that is out. Anyway i am currently running an AMD 64 3500+ Single core. With an Asus A8NE-FM motherboard. 200 GB HD, 128mb Geforce 6600, 1GB Ram. This was bought ready built from Mesh computers just less than 2 years ago.

Now for this new computer i want to build i want to stick with AMD. Don't ask me why because i really don't know lol.
So far this is what i have in mind to get, please guide me on anything i might need as i've never built a PC before, i've read quite abit of the threads on these forums. The search feature is terrible, or doesnt work at all, because i've never got any results from it. Anyway back to the spec of the components i have in mind:

MB:Asus M2N32-SLI Premium Vista NF590 SLI, SAM2, PCI-E(x16), DDR2 533/667/800, SATA II, SATA RAID, ATX
http://scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=564718

RAM:2GB (2x1GB) CorsairTwinX XMS2, DDR2 PC2-6400 (800), 240 Pins, Non-ECC Unbuffered, 4-4-4-12, EPP, DHX
(Check this list of RAM that is reccommended for my MB) http://scan.co.uk/search/search.asp?criteria=TWIN2X2048-6400C4&Submit=Go

Case: ThermalTake Armour Jr
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/ProductInfo.aspx?ProductID=16670

Processor: AMD AM2 Athlon 64 6000+ Dual Core 3.0GHz, 2x 1MB Cache, OEM
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=599492
This processor is an OEM version, which i've been told does not come with a fan. Im not going to do any overclocking with this computer. Is it best to buy the retail version with the stock fan for £20 more? Or should i buy the OEM version and buy the fan seperately?