Want to buy a 19" wide screen LCD, need suggestions.

expee15

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2007
Hi!

This is my first time experience of writing on a forum and asking for help, so kindly ignore the mistakes, iff any.

I am planing to buy a 19" wide screen LCD monitor. I have to choose one from these following three:

Philips 190CW7CS
ViewSonic VA1912W
Samsung 940BW

I am a Philips monitors fan. I have been using a Philips CRT monitor from 6 - 7 years & I am really very satisfied with its performance.

For Philips 190CW7CS, I have read 4 user reviews on net. 2 of them say that this is really very gud monitor, a perfect choice for professionals & photographers. & the other 2 users say that, this monitor is OK, but gives poor performance while gaming. One more thing, one local dealer told me about Philips monitor, that its sensitive or problematic, but if you touch the screen, it gets dead pixels or something like that.

For ViewSonic VA1912W, I have read more than 20 user reviews, but all say one thing, "this is very gud monitor, I am happy with my buying". nothing else.

For Samsung 940BW, I have not found any user reviews (I didn't search very much), but read 2 professional reviews, they were quite positive about this monitor.

Now, I want to ask that:
Q:1. If you have personally experienced any of these models, what are your comments, and which one do you think is best among these three and why?

Q:2. Is Philips really poor in performance and durability (dead pixels problem)? If you are a Philips LCD monitor user, using specifically this same model (190CW7CS), or any Philips 19" wide screen LCD, or any Philips LCD monitor, what are your comments about your monitor? How much happy you are with your monitor.

Q:3. In LCD monitors, how much contrast ratio practically matters? e.g. one is having 850:1 and other is having 500:1? (850:1 is Philips & 500:1 is Samsung)

If you have something else to say about any of these monitors, you are most welcome.