Am I being hacked or some other problem?

charlie8311

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2009
Ok, I have had 2 separate PC harddrives that appear to have died in the past couple weeks and now I can't even reformat my nwer PC because of weird issues. I am a noob so please be patient here. :ouch:

One of the harddrives that died was on a very old PC.. so I don't know if it was just a coincidence. But I have reason to suspect someone on a messageboard may have hacked me or sent me some kind of malicious malware somehow -- I have been getting harassed by some bullies on a website.

So on my newer Windows Vista PC I have 2 large harddrives. This PC is a HP Media center PC -- M8300F.

http://www.retrevo.com/search?q=HP+M8300F&rt=sp

The first issue I had on the PC was on the auxialliary drive. It started running really slow and my PC would freeze. The Aux harddrive also wasn't being recognized by my PC.. the autoplay thing would come up and ask me what to do with the drive.

So I managed to try to get as much info off it I could by removing it and using a USB adapter I have to make it a USB drive.

The main harddrive and my PC seemed to be working better then.

So I got everything off the main drive and reinstalled windows using recovery disks. Was working good for a couple weeks. But now there is a new issue.

I had rebooted my PC and it froze after I logged on to the Administrator account. I tried to use a previous restore point thinking that maybe a Windows update caused this... when I rebooted I noticed that my PC was installing a driver for my harddrive for some reason???

But my PC still kept freezing up after logging in and the programs loading. I tried to disable all programs on startup, too. So I tried to reformat but this didn't work.. after reformatting and reinstalling Windows it was freezing after the screen, "please wait while Windows prepares to start for the first time."