More news about AMD going fabless

BaronMatrix

Splendid
Dec 14, 2005
for the record, I've been saying it for 9 months now, the sooner AMD comes clean, the faster we move on. AMD will never be a 1st rate chipmaker. It was fun while it lasted
http://www.marketwatch.com/News/Story/Story.aspx?guid=%7bB5B0F162-C06A-476E-8516-FBE5F8DCC32E%7d&siteid=yhoo&dist=yhoo

Yeah, that Opteron is a piece of crap that should never have been released. Damn them.

Anyway, it says that IF AMD does that it will benefit Intel. Besides, why would they scrap two Fabs that are just ramping?

petevsdrm

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2007
for the record, I've been saying it for 9 months now, the sooner AMD comes clean, the faster we move on. AMD will never be a 1st rate chipmaker. It was fun while it lasted
http://www.marketwatch.com/News/Story/Story.aspx?guid=%7bB5B0F162-C06A-476E-8516-FBE5F8DCC32E%7d&siteid=yhoo&dist=yhoo

I don't know, that's pretty harsh. Even with AMD behind so far in the performance department, I would still say they are a "first rate chip maker". I mean, compare AMD to Cyrix. And it wasn't all that long ago that they did have the fastest CPU's that money could buy for a home PC. So, behind, yes. Second-Rate, no.

Lacostiade

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2006
i think that it is most likely they will try to get more companies in their process development group. If they need it they can even share fabs. But going fabless, I don't think so.

crazypyro

Distinguished
Mar 4, 2006
Wonder which branch of AMD they are talking about, CPU or GPU? I think a little elboration on what pieces of silicon they're talking about would be helpful in this prediction.

AMD has superior engineers to Intel. Intel has capacity and money on AMD. Don't care how good of an engineer you are, if someone can build more than you, and spend money to market it, your product won't be very successful for far too long. Like Germany in WWII superior tanks, but America could outproduce them.

BaronMatrix

Splendid