E6600 - seeking advice/knowledge

ZenAlien

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2007
So, I'll try to steer this away from being just another post looking for reassurance on C2D numbers...though that is, to an extent, part of what I'm looking for. I've read probably 20 such posts in the last couple of hours.

I built a new machine something like 3 weeks ago: E6600/P5N32-E SLI/8800GTX. I've been pretty much impressed with it's performance, especially playing Vanguard SOH, which is such a demanding beast of software. Had some fairly consistent glitches/CTDs in Vanguard, which I attributed to the terrible experience so many have had with 8800s and that game. In addition to the CTDs, there were half a dozen or so instances of the machine just shutting itself off. I suppose, in the back of my mind, I knew that wasn't a software issue, but I ignored them or at least postponed addressing them. Hey! I'm a software developer == busy.

So...forward to yesterday, when the temp question obvious in the shutdowns led me to install the PCProbeII app that came with the MB. As soon as I started it up, it was alarming on CPU temp @ 67c. I said (outloud, even), 'Bull*#$!. I don't believe that.' ...and proceeded to run the cpu arithmetic bench in Sandra. Watched in horror as the monitor read 71...79...87...91...and at that point I killed Sandra. But, the machine was still up & running. I shut it down manually & opened it up to check the seating of the stock hsf, which was hanging on by only two of its stubby little useless plastic feet.

So, I pulled it. 2 hours later & $65 poorer, I replaced it with an ASUS Silent Square over AS5. Since then, PCProbeII is reporting idle temps of ~34-39c(CPU), ~37-41c(MB), and running Vanguard maxed for 4 hours loaded it to ~48-52(CPU) and about the same for the mb. CoreTemp says it idles at ~35c & loads at about 47c. I ran Orthos for 15 min without error and pushed CoreTemp's report to 55c.

So, I have two essential inquiries I'm hoping someone can address: