Sign in with
Your question

Hard Drive selection, Suggestions Please!!!

Last response: in Storage
June 17, 2007 2:15:48 PM

I am getting ready to build my new system and basically I was considering buying a 160 Raptor and back it up with one of the two 750Gig drives I was going to purchase. Basically, back up the main drive, and store all my media and such, pics, mp3s, movies, etc, on the first 750 and then run that in a RAID 1 configuration with the second 750 as the back up. So, since this is my first time playing with RAID, and the Raptors, I was looking for some assistance.

Basically,

Is this possible to set the system up like this, stupid question but I thought I would ask.

Any thoughts as to using a single Raptor VS two 80 Raptors in a Raid 0 Setting

As for the 750s I was thinking of going with the HITACHI Deskstar 7K1000 HDS721075KLA330, seems to be one of the only drives I have seen with the 32MB of cache, is it worth it, and how is Hitachi as a manufacture of drives, I have never used them before.

Can anyone else suggest a different 750Gig drive.

Also, any other thoughts on things I should consider, or suggestions on different ways I should go would be most welcomed.

Thanks
a b G Storage
June 17, 2007 3:36:58 PM

As far as the cache is concerned Tom's has already proven that for normal home use you will see no significant improvement going from 8Mb to 16Mb. The jump to 32Mb in that big 1Tb drive will similarly show little or even no improvement. The higher cache will affect server performance with an NCQ capable drive with large queue depth.

When you ask 'worth it?' do you mean price per Gb? If so then the 1Tb Hitachi is not worth it. you could get the same volume with 3x 500Gb in RAID5 for nearly the same and have really good data security. Alternatively you could get 2x 500Gb for the same volume in RAID JBOD, obviously without the data security but for much less money.

Q
a b G Storage
June 17, 2007 3:40:59 PM