Remote access to a business sever

AdiCt_

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2007
Hello

I am looking for some help with setting up remote access to a small business sever. My parents have asked me to help them set up a remote access so that they can log on to their small business sever from their home. I have some knowledge in computer hardware , but network wizardry is something i have not dabbled in :whistle:

Any help or advice would be most appreciated regarding setting up remote access small business sever, what parts / software needed , thank you :p

rgeist554

Distinguished
Oct 15, 2007
Oh, I deal with this stuff all day. If it doesn't work, I get to drive out to the employees house and fix it for them. Let's do a few things to get you started:

1. Find out what private IP addressing scheme your parents server uses. (Ex. 192.168.1.x - Where x is going to be assigned to different clients)

*If you don't use a router, then ignore this step*
2. Find out what IP addressing scheme your router is using. This must be different than the Small Business Server (SBS for short) connection. (Ex. It can not be 192.168.1.x - Change it to 172.16.0.x or even 10.0.0.x scheme) This part is absolutely the most critical part!!

3. Use whatever SBS Connection Manager or VPN client that is required to connect to the server. (The alternative is for you to create your own VPN, which is quite simple - Read my VPN post at the bottom)

4. Make sure you have a User name and Password (at least some kind of account) on the server.

5. Log in using the VPN and account credentials provided for you. (You probably know this already, but you need an active internet connection in order to dial into the server)

Creating a VPN:
Going to assume that you're using Windows XP.
1. Open your Network and Internet Connections (Found in Control Panel)
2. Click "Create a new connection"