Help for new Workstation

d1g1_n1nj4

Honorable
Aug 7, 2012
Hello!

I am new to this community. I am a mechanical engineer and need computer for mostly for Solid modeling (Solidworks) and FEA (ANSYS) not being a hardcore gamer though, I play games whenever time permits.
I am trying to build my workstation and will appreciate suggestions.

Presently, I have thought of Following

Processor : Intel Ivy Bridge Core i7-3770K
Mother Board : Intel DZH77GA-70k/ gigabyte Z77X-UD5H/ ASUSP8z77-vpro / ASUS Z77 Sabertooth (I am confused and need a serious help on this)
Cooler: Cooler master 212 Hyper Plus/ Intel
RAM: 16GB {[2x8GB] DDR-3 1600Mhz Kingston}
Graphic Card (PCI) : Nvidia Quadro 600
HDD : 1TB Seagate 7200 RPM 64MB (Help If possible)
PSU: Need Help on this too...!!

Thanks Again for your suggestion and opinions

d1g1_n1nj4

it looks like you at least have a pretty good idea about what you need. going with a professional graphics card over a consumer graphics card is definitely a good idea. in general they are more suited to rendering and 3d modeling than gaming and consumer grade cards are vice versa.

i'm not familiar with the benefits from ivybridge and other platforms but going with an i7 is a solid choice. the K models allow you to overclock in the future but you most likely will not need to.

i've had good luck with my asus motherboard (i7-920 on a asus rampage III rog). a little expensive but it has great built in features.

honestly you could probably get away with the stock cpu cooler for awhile unless you plan to overclock right off the bat. i remember the 212 being a recommended cooler but i'm not sure how it fares with current options.

make sure you match your ram sticks to your motherboards ram channels. 2, 4 or 6 sticks for dual channel, 3 or 6 for triple channel and 4 sticks for quad channel. as far as brands go, i'm happy with mushkin but everyone has their own opinion.