Is it worth spending the extra on a P35 board?

Brevik

Distinguished
May 30, 2007
Question is in the title, I'm looking at getting an e4300 and 2Gb of RAM (OcUK have a special on Geil ram this week) as the basis for a new budget gaming PC, and I'm very undecided about what motherboard to get.

I'm a total newbie to overclocking - so I'd like something that keeps that side of things simple and my total budget is £450 (not including GPU which I already have). Having just received my annual bonus, I'm now ready to order stuff!

Mobos I have been considering are:

Abit FP-IN9 - not sure if I'll ever use SLi, but I've heard (rightly or wrongly) that it makes overclocking easy
Gigabyte 965 thingy
Asus P5B
Gigabyte P35C
Asus P5K

2 years ago I built an AMD PC with an A8N-SLi mobo, Athlon 64 3000 and 1Gb RAM and the only thing I've upgraded is the graphics card. Based on that experience, I'm more likely to go for a complete overhaul in 2 years time, rather than upgrade (maybe get a better processor, or GPU, in a years time, but spending comparable money as I will be now, if that makes sense).

So I'm trying to work out if shelling out the extra for a P35 motherboard makes sense or not...

What do you guys reckon?

BUFF

Distinguished
Dec 17, 2003
wouldn't get an FP-IN9 SLI for easy overclocking as with current BIOS it isn't (easy).
AB9 QuadGT is though & I rate the 965 chipset over the 650i.
Or the new IP35 series is getting very positive feedback in th eforums.

mrmez

Splendid
Ive seen no performance increase in 35 over 965.
Id stay with a good proven 965 borad. DDR3 is a ripoff atm, super expensive and not worth the marginal increase.

Id get a P35 12-18 months from now

IcY18

Distinguished
May 1, 2006
If he gets a P35 now he's guaranteed support from Intel's 45nm and longer support than a P965 board. He doesn't have to get a DDR3 board, he can get the one i said earlier and it only costs slightly more than the 965 counterpart.