Jun 22, 2007
Hello,

Antec P180
OCZGXS700
P5K Deluxe
Core 2 E6320
Radeon x1950 PRO
Corsair DDR2 XMS2 PC 8500

I've recently built a computer with these specs. Currently there is nothing external plugged in (no monitor, no keyboard, no mouse), but everything else is seated. When I turn on the power, it turns on for a few seconds, then promptly turns off. No beeps.

I've reseated the CPU/fan twice now, and unplugged, replugged everything I could think of. I'm just aiming for it to stay on and beep at me so I can have at least some clue as to how to proceed.

I'm fairly new at this. I've googled around but I've found nothing, but if there's something I've missed please kindly let me know.

All help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time in advance,

- Eric

EricR86

Distinguished
Jun 22, 2007
The front power button. There's an LED on the board that indicates when the board has power. The LED turns on when the switch at the back is on. So the switch on the back is on - and when I press the power button, it turns on for a few seconds, then turns off again.

morerevs

Distinguished
May 19, 2007
Try to build the system outside of the case just to eliminate shorting or missing something because of cramped workspace. Use only CPU/cooler, one stick of ram and videocard to see if it posts (the beep you are longing to hear :D ) If that works there's probably an extra standof or something in the IO panel, or maybe even CPU cooler backplate that is touching the case and causing problems. Also make sure you have the power and reset plugs connected properly to the board. I believe there was this guy in another post that switched them around and had similar issues.

GL.

EricR86

Distinguished
Jun 22, 2007
@Crashman: The CPU fan is connected into the proper connector according to the P5K manual, and it does manage to start for a few seconds before it shuts down with everything else.

@SupremeLaw: Thanks for the link.