Q6600 or wait for Penryn????

suspenz

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2007
ok im a big noob im planning on building a pc (my first build) and it wont be till October... since i would be receiving $1400 within that month. but ive been hearing alot of talk about the q6600 and penryn. what would you guys recommend...either purchase q6600 in October or wait for the penryn??

also heard Penryn would be released early 2008...but would the wait for the new penryn be worth it, or should i just purchase the q6600. is the spec's that much of a difference????

please dont forget im a big noob...im new to this so please welcome me to your world ...lol

alpha_channel

Distinguished
Sep 25, 2006
You could do both, get a Penryn supporting motherboard and a q6600, as they should be cheap enough (the q6600 that is) you could simply upgrade to the new Penryn chip when they are released.

Though it really depends on what you want to do with your new PC, if it's gaming don't bother, get the Penryn supporting motherboard and a cheap Core 2 Duo (then upgrade when they come out). If you want to do more, like 3D rendering, video work, etc... (like me) then a q6600 wouldn't be so bad, keep the chip for 6-12 months then simply upgrade to the newer Penryn core when they've come down in price a bit (the chances are that upon first release the Penryn chips are likely to be a bit pricey simply due to the mad rush to get the new chip, supply and demand'll dictate chip prices to begin with).

suspenz

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2007
q6600 and the c2d wont make that much of a difference since most of the games wont take advantage of the 2 cores...let alone 4. right? so a c2d will do fine till next summer or fall? well on a pure gaming pc. either CS:S or WWC and FEAR. i dont do much of video editing or 3d stuff, so seems like your right c2d would do me fine. can anyone give me a link or if available on the spec's of penryn and date of shippment to public. Thank You.