Motion Graphic Artist needs help!!

achoman01

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2007
I am a video editor and compositor by profession, but a pure gamer by heart. I have built a couple computers in the past, and I am currently planning my next build. My past builds have been done with the gamer in mind, but my next one has to include my professional side as well. I need a graphics card from the Nvidia Quadro family in order to run all my programs smoothly, but I also want a fast card, like the Nvidia 8800 GTX/GTS. My question is can I have both cards in my system and somehow hook it up in a way that I can switch which card I want to use through the computer interface instead of physically switching cards, or physically connecting my monitor to whichever card I want to use. If you guys can help me with my dilemma, it will be much appreciated.

Thank you in advance

jonisginger

Distinguished
May 24, 2007
You'll need a SLi motherboard, and you willl have to run Windows offof the Quadro, and then you might be able 2 specify in games which card to use (i think, its a guess I don't know)

oh WAIT

I KNOW!!

Get a monitor with dual inputs, and plug one into each gcard, then before playing a game switch to the output on the 8800GTX/S

Before working switch output to th Quadro FX :D

There you are my son (get a good CPU for graphics desiging, as I'm sure you know!)

Hope that helps

You might be able to download a small app that sits in a small window in your screen and you just click to switch displays. Can't remember what it is called

Anyone know?

Hatman

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2004
Well no one is a GTS and one is a GTX, they are both 8800 version just one is a cheaper version.

The GTS has pretty much no advantage over the GTX...

-------------

EDIT: My mistake mis-read the first post.. thought you wanted to put a GTS and a GTX is the same system.. that would of been extremely pointless

Sorry again :cry:

jonisginger

Distinguished
May 24, 2007