Opening the same ports on multiple IPs?

Tak

Distinguished
Sep 16, 2003
Hey. here's my little diddy. Forgive me if this question is newbish, but I did search the forum to no avail, and I'm still a little newb to proper networking.

I have 3 computers on a network in my house, 2 of them are mine, a PC and a laptop, and another PC downstairs in a segragrated room (my roommates PC). The router is in my room and I am pretty much the head honcho in keeping the internet alive for all 3 PCs.

I have a Linksys BEFSR41 v.3 connected to Shaw Highspeed internet, and I am occasionally having troubles connecting to MSN. Now, I know I have to open certain ports to be able to connect to MSN, as well as send files and accept web cam video among other things. I also use eMule and ICQ, which require other certain ports to be open for proper use. Now my problem is that the router occasionally assigns IP according to whatever theory, and sometimes i get *.*.*.200 or *.*.*.201 or *.*.*.202. In my router settings, under uPnP settings, to allow certain TCP and UDP ports to open for MSN/eMule/ICQ and whatnot for a specific IP address on the network. Now when I boot up and get assigned a different IP, I have to go into the router settings or right click on my internet connection to change the IP address to correspond with my IP address to allow a proper connection for my program I am trying to use.

Is there a way to "universally" open certain ports for all 3 IP addresses (maybe a wild card variable in the IP setting?) because I know that all 3 computers will use MSN, so I want to open the ports needed for MSN without having to change the IP address in the router setting each time I have a problem connecting...

any help would be greately appreciated!
thanks for you time

- Tak

Remember, when in doubt, even monkeys fall from trees sometimes.

jihiggs

Splendid
Oct 11, 2001