New build/Need reality check please

Hello -

I've built my last 3 pcs over the last 8 years, but still consider myself a bit green. At my last job I had someone who would keep me grounded as I picked parts, but it's been 3 years since then and I need a new system.

I have money but not much knowledge, and I'm not ashamed to say I used the recent Tom's article on high-end builds as a comparison. Pretty much the only thing I use it for is gaming.

I'm trying to force myself to a $4k budget, but I'll pay more for this or that if my choices are idiotic. Try not to judge too harshly, like I said I'm a bit of an amateur.

Also, I have chosen a "lower" end cpu because I expect to upgrade it in about 6 months or so. Also, I've never overclocked before, but am willing to start. Carefully.

-CPU: Intel core-duo 6600
-MB: EVGA 680i SLI 122-CK-NF68-A1
-RAM: I'm kind of lost here - do I want DDR2 1066 or just 800 or what?
-Vid Cards: 2 Evga 8800 GTXs (not the overclocked ones, the 575Mhzs)
-PSU: PPC 750Watt (from Tom's article)
-Monitor: Dell's 30-in (That stays, it would take an argument from a demi-god to convince me otherwise)
-HD: Hitachi's 1T, with a secondary HD for the swap file. Much thought went into this. I've found a lot of evidence that Raid-0 just isn't that useful in gaming. I'm happy to hear arguments otherwise, but it really has to be backed up by evidence.

Did I forget anything? Oh yeah, I'm making my own case, that'll be a trip, too.
Thanks in advance!
16 answers Last reply
More about build need reality check please
  1. Quote:

-CPU: Intel core-duo 6600
    -MB: EVGA 680i SLI 122-CK-NF68-A1
    -RAM: I'm kind of lost here - do I want DDR2 1066 or just 800 or what?
    -Vid Cards: 2 Evga 8800 GTXs (not the overclocked ones, the 575Mhzs)
    -PSU: PPC 750Watt (from Tom's article)
    -Monitor: Dell's 30-in (That stays, it would take an argument from a demi-god to convince me otherwise)