OC AMD X2 3800 Socket 939-Manchester

geotech

Distinguished
Jul 25, 2006
This is my first time overclocking so I have a bunch of questions.
Here is my setup.

ASUS A8N-Sli Premium
AMD Athlon X2 3800+ Stock 2.0Ghz (Stock Cooling)
Corsair 2x1Gb memory
7600GT BFG 256MB
Aspire 520watt PSu
All wrapped in a Thermal take Armor Full tower.

I am using clock gen to OC because I don't know where to do it from the bios, I couldn't find the options. I kept bumping it up a little at a tim, maybe 50Mhz and then running SuperPi and misc. programs to check stability. I got it to around 2.225 before it froze. On restart it was stock voltage. I have gotten it up to 2.45 running stable. Every other time or so when I start up I get a sequence of beeps followed by "System Failed VGA Test." My video card is NOT overclocked. And I have already dropped my multiplier from 5 to 4 to keep the HT Link at around 950Mhz.

So here are my questions:
What is a reliable program to check the temp?
Is there a danger zone that I should not go past with my stock Heatsink?
Should I be worried about the VGA test error?

If I could just get some guideance it would really help, thanks for you time.
-Geo

badnob

Distinguished
May 29, 2007
I suggest you have a nother look in the BIOS for the actual overclocking settings. I'm sure it's better to use those.

I have an ASROCK Dual SATAII Motherboard, x2 3800 Manchester and managed to get it to 2.5 easy on stock cooling, no heat issues.

I didn't have to mess with the voltage but I did drop the memory speed from DDR400 to DDR333 (with the 250mhz bus rather than 200 though, it runs the memory at 416mhz).

I also locked my PCIe frequency to 100mhz (Asynchronous to the FSB) and I have no stability problems.

I had a quick look at the online manual for your motherboard and I think your overclocking option are in the Advanced->Jumperfree BIOS settings.

badnob

Distinguished
May 29, 2007