3 Fold Question on Graphics Card Rec.

stlbluz

Distinguished
Jun 15, 2007
1) I have a stock Sony Vaio PCV - RS510, and am looking for a graphics card that would be capable of running Wow & C&C 3 on the system. I do not need top of the line because I'll be purchasing a new desktop in a couple of years, but would like decent graphics/frame rate until then. They system is AGP, so I've got 3 different cards on my radar: X1950XT, X1650XT & the 7600GT. I'm leaning towards the 7600GT because of the price, and I believe it's compatible with the HDCP(I understand that's a good thing for clarity) monitor that I'm buying, the Samsung 906BW.

2) Being a complete novice about this kind of stuff, I have read that I'll need to increase my memory, so if you have any suggestions as to a good 1G(I think that's enough) memory chip that would be great.

3) I've also read that I'll need a more powerful PSU, though I don't even know where to begin there, so once again . . .

I would appreciate any suggestions that you may have. I'm picking up the monitor from Best Buy this weekend, but am aiming at ordering the rest from newegg as soon as I can confirm that all of these things are compatible & sufficient.

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

stlbluz

Distinguished
Jun 15, 2007
This is what I've got:

Hardware Platform: PC
Processor: 2.8 GHz Intel Pentium 4
System Bus Speed: 800 MHz
Number of Processors: 1
RAM: 512 MB
RAM Type: DDR SDRAM
L2 Cache: 512 KB

Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition
Special Features

Intel Hyper-Threading Technology

Hard Drive

Size: 120 GB
Manufacturer: None
Type: Ultra ATA
Graphics and Display

Graphics Card: Intel 865GV Integrated Graphics
Graphics RAM: 64 MB
Interface: Unknown
Ports and Connectivity

I haven't upgraded anything since I bought it a couple of years ago.

stlbluz

Distinguished
Jun 15, 2007