E-Machine rebuild

sailer

Splendid
I've been using a 5 year old E-Machine in my office for a couple for a couple years and the cpu fan failed and burned the Intel chip. I have a spare motherboard with an AMD cpu and was wondering if simply transfer that board and chip in without problem.

I ask this because I've heard a couple times in the past that E-Machines somehow link their copy of XP to the BIOS of the original machine so that changes in motherboards/cpus can't be done. That doesn't sound likely, but I don't know for sure. Anyone know if this can be done, or do I just toss the old machine and turn the hardrive into a slave on another computer?

monst0r

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2007
sorry, intel and amd use different sockets for their chips. what you could do is do a little research on your specific model and try to find a cheap replacement cpu (should be that hard, i think its probably a socket 478 or something..)

how are you sure that the mobo isn't dead as well?

personally, i'd just scrap parts (pretty much everything i suppose) and rebuild the system, if the mobos in tact.

there are tools that can find your xp cd key (i just used it today, got my new gigabyte mobo =D)

heres a link

good luck

sailer

Splendid
Yeah, I know that Intel and AMD use different sockets. What I meant was that I have a spare AMD cpu with its spare AMD socket type motherboard. My intention is to replace the Intel motherboard and cpu with a AMD motherboard and cpu. The XP CD says its for a E-Machine only, which made me wonder if its somehow linked to the specific motherboard/BIOS that came originally with the machine or something.

I don't know yet if the motherboard failed, but the cpu seems to be soldered to the motherboard, so if one fails, they both fail.

Thanks for the cd link. That can save me some time and headaches.

yipsl

Distinguished
Jul 8, 2006